Southern Italy Snapshots: Sardinia

The last couple of months, we’ve traveled through Calabria, Puglia, Molise, Basilicata, Campania, Abruzzo and Sicily. In our final Southern Italy Snapshots installment, we’re traveling off of the mainland to the photo-worthy island of Sardinia.

Sardinia, spelled Sardegna in Italian, is a far-flung southern Italian island that is a water enthusiast’s dream. The island is great for sailing, diving, snorkeling and swimming and features the intriguing Nuraghi beehive-like, UNESCO World Heritage Site dwellings, Roman ruins and ancient castles. Its eight provinces are Sassari, Nuoro, Cagliari, Medio-Campidano, Carbonia Iglesias, Ogliastra, Olbia and Oristano.

Province of Oristano

Capo Caccia in the Province of Alghero

Capriccioli on the Costa Smeralda

Costa Smeralda


Are you heading to southern Italy? Click here to see how I can help you plan your trip.

Photos: Thumbnail, Polisblog; other photos McLaren Clan, yoyntl, imagea, ciao yvon and ozzadavies all via Flickr.

3 Responses

Leave a Reply